Saturday, 10 December 2016

Non-Bookish: A Few of my Favourite Things from November.

This post is a little behind schedule (but what's new!)


Image via CBC Radio

Like the rest of the world, I've been hooked on true crime podcasts ever since Serial reported on the case of Adnan Syed a couple years back.  Of all the podcasts I've checked out since then, Someone Knows Something, which focuses on Canadian cold cases, is one of the best. Season Two, which kicked off a couple of weeks back, deals with the disappearance of Sheryl Sheppard, who went missing in 1998 and has not been seen since.



*****



Season 1 of The Missing on BBC was good, but this series was even better. So clever and twisted. Julien Baptiste is my hero! Here's hoping for season 3. 




I wasn't sure about Offspring at first: Season 1 was hit and miss for me - and sometimes Nina Proudman was just a little too quirky for my liking. I stuck with it though and I'm really glad I did. Seasons 2-4 of this show are mostly excellent in their detailing of the lives, loves and dramas of the Melbourne-based, always entertaining,  Proudman family.  I've just started on Season 5 and I'm hoping that Netflix will make Season 6 available pretty soon. I've heard it might be a wait, though, as the current season has just aired in Australia.

If you like Parenthood and This is Us, then you'll like Offspring.

*****







Hydraluron was a total skin saver for me during a very cold November. If your skin needs a moisture boost right about now, then this is the product for you! I also quite like the sheet masks from Hydraluron, although I find sheet masks generally icky to apply. That, and the fact that they make me look like an extra from a bad horror movie.  This stuff really works, though. Check it out.


*****




November in music saw Impossible Dream by Haley Bonar on constant rotation. I must have listened to my two favourite songs from the album - Kismet Kill and Called You Queen - at least a gazillion times!

*****




My current book is Her Every Fear by Peter Swanson - it's the kind of thriller that is so gripping you'll only put it down if you absolutely have to! Also, check out The Kind Worth Killing  by the same author. So, so, SO good! 

Thursday, 1 December 2016

All the deets on 'Into the Water' by Paula Hawkins!

Oh, hello there! It's been a while. I've been a very bad blogger of late, a consequence of too much Netflixing (check out Offspring and The Crown) and not enough reading. 

Speaking of reading, 2016 has been such a bad reading year for me. I've had a handful of good reads, and that's it. A handful. Anyone else? It's hard to be a book blogger when you're in a perpetual reading slump and not reading very much at all. Argh! I try not to stress about it. 2017 has bunches of books I'm looking forward to (more on that in the coming weeks) so maybe I'll get my blogging mojo back. Maybe not. Hey, at least I'll always have Netflix...

Anyhow, in exciting news, yesterday saw the cover reveal for the much-anticipated upcoming novel from 'Girl on the Train' author Paula Hawkins. I feel like this book has been a little bit shrouded in mystery, which just makes me want it even more, you know? Adding to the mystery, it seems that an official synopsis is not yet available. So much mystery. So much want.



Here's the cover: 




Into the Water by Paula Hawkins || Release date: May 2017

The lowdown, as per Goodreads:

Paula Hawkins has penned a “dark and moving” second psychological suspense novel for Doubleday called Into The Water, set for release next May.


The book is about “the slipperiness of the truth, and a family drowning in secrets”, her publisher said.

Set in a small riverside town in the UK, the novel will “unfurl a gripping, twisting, layered story”. While little has been given away in terms of plot, it will feature two sisters and “ghostly echoes of the past”. 


*****


Paula Hawkins says: “This story has been brewing for a good while. For me there is something irresistible about the stories we tell ourselves, the way voices and truths can be hidden consciously or unconsciously, memories can be washed away and whole histories submerged. Then two sisters appeared, and the novel began to form.”



Paula’s Editor, Sarah Adams, says: “Once again Paula explores the thrilling depths of our psychology, reminding us that all is rarely as it seems and enticing us to turn detective. Into The Water drips with suspicion and the ghostly echoes of the past. It is a menacing, moving, deeply satisfying read which entranced me from first page to last. We couldn’t be more excited to share it with her eagerly awaiting readers.”



Paula’s literary agent, Lizzy Kremer, says: “Into The Water is incredibly dark and moving. Only Paula Hawkins could have written it. It is an unflinching and original book that is both a terrific thriller and a beautiful novel.”






Source: www.penguinrandomhouse.co.uk, https://www.goodreads.com/

Friday, 5 August 2016

Cover Alert: Hello, Sunshine by Leila Howland.


Hello, Sunshine by Leila Howland || Release date: July 2017

An 18-year-old student cannot get into college due to a misstep sophomore year and decides to move to Los Angeles and pursue an acting career.

*****

Here's one to add to your summer reading lists. Summer 2017, that is.  I've been wishing for a new YA from Nantucket Blue author Leila Howland for a while now, and here it is! Hello, Sunshine releases July 2017, is set in the magical movie world of Los Angeles, and promises to be a whole lot of fun.  Also, if Nantucket Blue is any indicator, I'm pretty sure this one will contain a whole lot of romance to!


P.S: My review of Nantucket Blue.

Wednesday, 27 July 2016

Book Review: I See You by Clare Mackintosh.


Product details 
Publisher: Sphere.
Hardcover, 368 pages.
Release date: July 28th 2016.
Rating: 4 out of 5.
Ages: Adult
Source: Received from publisher for review.

 When Zoe Walker sees her photo in the classifieds section of a London newspaper, she is determined to find out why it's there. There's no explanation, no website: just a grainy image and a phone number. She takes it home to her family, who are convinced it's just someone who looks like Zoe. But the next day the advert shows a photo of a different woman, and another the day after that.

Is it a mistake? A coincidence? Or is someone keeping track of every move they make . .



Her debut novel was a hairpin ride of a thriller that blindsided with its twists and left readers begging for more.  Now, Clare Mackintosh is back: and if you’re a nervous reader who was worried that her second novel wouldn’t live up to the brilliance of  I Let You Go, then put those fears to rest right now. I See You grips from the get go – and it’ll send shivers down your spine right till the very end. 

The very best type of thriller is one that makes a monster out of the everyday; that takes the mundane and renders it horrific. I See You is a book that you’ll read on your daily commute. Or maybe not. Actually, I’d warn against it. But, we’ve all been there, right? The commute is a necessary evil of city life; something that gets you to pillar to post. Beyond that, I’d wager it’s not something anyone spends a whole lot of time thinking about.  We spend our mornings and our evenings in the company of strangers whose gazes we want to avoid, mumbling apologies as trains jerk forward and bodies crush together. These strangers we see day in, day out, knowing nothing about their lives, as they know nothing about ours. But what if that’s not true? What if that stranger on the train knows everything about you: from your exact route to work to your dress size? And what if they want to know more? What if they want to know everything? 

That’s the nightmare scenario facing Zoe Walker, a London commuter who, by chance, sees her picture in the classifieds section of a free newspaper. At first, it looks as though Zoe’s picture is being used as an advert for a dating site. But Zoe’s investigations into the site don’t lead anywhere, and her family are quick to allay her fears, assuring her that the woman in the picture is just someone who bears a slight resemblance to her – not actually her at all.  However, Zoe knows her own face when she sees it, and as she starts checking the classifieds day after day, more adverts are placed for the dating site, each showing a different woman. At first, Zoe is annoyed. Then, she’s frightened. Because this is no ordinary dating site. And soon the women in the photos start turning up dead. Could Zoe be next?

A fantastic idea with expert execution, I See You is another hit from Mackintosh. This is a truly absorbing read and one that will keep you on the edge-of-your-seat as you follow Zoe on her daily life around London, where her very worst nightmare could be just a tube stop away. Just as with I Let You Go, the story of I See You isn’t told at breakneck speed: we get to know a lot about Zoe and her family –she’s a divorcee with two adult children – as well as the cops investigating the case. And soon, everyone – from Zoe’s boss to her daughter’s new boyfriend to random people on the tube- will be on your list of suspects.  That’s part of the fun of this sinister, jigsaw-puzzle tale: with victims seemingly picked at random, the perpetrator could be just about anyone. And you could be next…*Shudders*


In short: A stunning crime thriller with a highly unique premise. I See You is one that you’ll want to read late into the night – but maybe not on your daily commute. 

Monday, 11 July 2016

New Books on my Radar!


Just a selection of my most-anticipated recent and upcoming releases!

 Added any must-have books to your wish list lately? Let me know in comments!



Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett || Release date: April 2017

In this delightfully charming teen spin on You’ve Got Mail, the one guy Bailey Rydell can’t stand is actually the boy of her dreams—she just doesn’t know it yet.

Classic movie buff Bailey “Mink” Rydell has spent half of her junior year falling for a sensitive film geek she only knows online as “Alex.” Two coasts separate them until she moves in with her dad, who lives in the same California surfing town as her online crush.

Faced with doubts (what if he’s a creep—or worse?), Bailey doesn’t tell Alex she’s moved to his hometown. Or that she’s landed a job at the local tourist trap, the oddball Cavern Palace Museum. Or that she’s being tormented daily by Porter Roth, a smart-alecky yet irritatingly hot museum security guard. But when Porter and Bailey are locked in the museum overnight, Bailey is forced to choose whether she should cling to a dreamy fantasy in Alex or take a risk on an imperfect reality with Porter. The choice is both simpler and more complicated than she realizes, because Porter Roth is hiding a secret of his own: Porter is Alex. Approximately.


*****




Her Every Fear by Peter Swanson || Release date: January 2017

Trading apartments with her Boston cousin seemed like a good idea to Kate. She might finally shake off the nightmares that have haunted her. On arrival, she discovers that the woman in the next apartment has been brutally murdered. Kate’s worst fears are about to be realized, as the police come to suspect her cousin as the killer. There are other bodies in his past that she has yet to learn of.

HER EVERY FEAR is a classic nail-biter about a troubled young woman in jeopardy. This novel echoes those of Patricia Highsmith at her best. 


Read my review of The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson.


*****



The American Girl by Kate Horsley || Release date: August 2016

From a bright new talent comes a riveting psychological thriller about an American exchange student in France involved in a suspicious accident, and the journalist determined to break the story and uncover the dark secrets a small town is hiding,

On a quiet summer morning, seventeen-year-old American exchange student Quinn Perkins stumbles out of the woods near the small French town of St. Roch. Barefoot, bloodied, and unable to say what has happened to her, Quinn’s appearance creates quite a stir, especially since the Blavettes—the French family with whom she’s been staying—have mysteriously disappeared. Now the media, and everyone in the idyllic village, are wondering if the American girl had anything to do with her host family’s disappearance.

Though she is cynical about the media circus that suddenly forms around the girl, Boston journalist Molly Swift cannot deny she is also drawn to the mystery and travels to St. Roch. She is prepared to do anything to learn the truth, including lying so she can get close to Quinn. But when a shocking discovery turns the town against Quinn and she is arrested for the murders of the Blavette family, she finds an unlikely ally in Molly. 

As a trial by media ensues, Molly must unravel the disturbing secrets of the town’s past in an effort to clear Quinn’s name, but even she is forced to admit that the American Girl makes a very compelling murder suspect. Is Quinn truly innocent and as much a victim as the Blavettes—or is she a cunning, diabolical killer intent on getting away with murder…?

Told from the alternating perspectives of Molly, as she’s drawn inexorably closer to the truth, and Quinn’s blog entries tracing the events that led to her accident, The American Girl is a deliciously creepy, contemporary, twisting mystery leading to a shocking conclusion.

*****



I'm Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reid || Release date: June 2016


You will be scared. But you won’t know why…

I’m thinking of ending things. Once this thought arrives, it stays. It sticks. It lingers. It’s always there. Always.

Jake once said, “Sometimes a thought is closer to truth, to reality, than an action. You can say anything, you can do anything, but you can’t fake a thought.”

And here’s what I’m thinking: I don’t want to be here.

In this deeply suspenseful and irresistibly unnerving debut novel, a man and his girlfriend are on their way to a secluded farm. When the two take an unexpected detour, she is left stranded in a deserted high school, wondering if there is any escape at all. What follows is a twisted unraveling that will haunt you long after the last page is turned.

In this smart, suspenseful, and intense literary thriller, debut novelist Iain Reid explores the depths of the human psyche, questioning consciousness, free will, the value of relationships, fear, and the limitations of solitude. Reminiscent of Jose Saramago’s early work, Michel Faber’s cult classic Under the Skin, and Lionel Shriver’s We Need to Talk about Kevin, I’m Thinking of Ending Things is an edgy, haunting debut. Tense, gripping, and atmospheric, this novel pulls you in from the very first page…and never lets you go.

*****




Local Girl Missing by Claire Douglas || Release date: August 2016


Twenty years ago
21-year-old Sophie Collier vanishes one night.
She leaves nothing behind but a trainer on the old pier - 
and a hole in the heart of her best friend Francesca.

Now
A body's been found.
And Francesca's drawn back to the seaside town she's tried to forget.
Perhaps the truth of what happened to Sophie will finally come out.
Yet Francesca is beginning to wish she hadn't returned.

Everywhere she turns are ghosts from her past.
The same old faces and familiar haunts of her youth.
But if someone knows what really happened to Sophie that night then now's the time to find out - isn't it?

Except sometimes discovering the truth can cost you everything you hold dear - your family, your sanity and even your life . . .


*****
Related Posts with Thumbnails